The One

It was love at first sight.

I had spent my entire life wishing for you. You happened. And I knew. I knew the moment I looked into your eyes, that you were my person.

But with your arrival, I lost myself. Everything was about you. I tried desperately to assert my individuality to no avail. You ran the show.

Still, I loved you. I couldn’t imagine going back to a world where you weren’t by my side.

Sure we fought. There were moments when I wanted to scream at you (and moments when I did), but I always knew, at the end of the day, you’d be the only one who’d ever really know me. The only one who would call me out without hesitation. The only one who’d be there even at my most unlikeable. And I was honoured to do the same.

Over the years, we grew together, moulding each other, painting by numbers, not realizing that the masterpiece lay in the white spaces. The spaces around each of us. The spaces that connect us.

Our shared masterpiece – our bond – is and always will be my greatest achievement. I cherish every moment we have together, fine tuning its melodies, sculpting extensions, repainting neglected pieces.

I’m proud of what we’ve built, and thankful every day.

That almost 22 years ago, a baby sister came my way.

Love ya sis  5d460ed78992a28f0ea9d7a6b7841f91

Leave a Reply

